Pregnancy : Run of the mill update

So I’ve neglected writing in the blog for some time again.  For no good reason except that I’m a little lazy.  Things have been busy now and again, but not too bad all the way around.

A few weeks ago at work, they had a shower for me.  i received some great goodies and several gift cards.  We had really good cake and punch.  Fun time over all.  Then this past weekend, my sister and cousin threw my friends/family baby shower.  We had a really great turn out, with good snacks and food and of course the gifts.  Good lord, I am always awed at how thoughtful all the people in my life are.  It just overwhelms me.  My little one will be well blanketed and clothed!  I receive some nice fleecy sleepers and plenty of onesies.  Some cute socks.  Several awesome hand knits!!!  Also sheets for the crib and the pack n play.  The pack N play should be arriving soon.  Waiting on mom to order it.  She also got me a diaper bag and filled it with lots of goodies, too.  Thought that was a terrific idea.  Got the glider I REALLY wanted, I can’t wait until Brian puts it together and I get to sit in it.  Brian’s brother and his wife got us the stroller/car seat combo and I absolutely LOVE it.  Haven’t installed the seat just yet, but with some nicer temps coming up, I may do that by end of the week.  Would hate to mess with it in the finger numbing cold!

My sister was a busy bee making stuff.  She said she started when I first told her I was pregnant.  One of my favorite little sets that I know she’s made for others, she did make so I was excited for that.  It’s a sweater, hat, mitts, and socks set.  Very simple, yet classic pieces.  She also made a sleep sack with little owls that I really wanted too, so that was really awesome.

I’ve made a couple of items myself.  I have a BSJ I made right after finding out.  Then recently I’ve worked up 2 small hats and am working on a matching set up pants.  Have the front of the pants done, just need to make the back.  If I have enough yarn left I want to make the matching booties, too.  I won’t have enough yarn for the sweater, but I can probably make it in a different yarn.  Of course I have various afghans in progress, I had planned on finishing something before this child came, but I definitely don’t think that will be happening.  I wanted to make a quilt too, but haven’t found THE design just yet.  I made go simple and just do charm squares or something.  We shall see.

Other than that, I’m piling up the bills with all these tests and ultrasounds that need done.  So far everything does look pretty good.  We saw a cardiologist at Children’s hospital a few weeks ago.  There’s a small chance of a heart issue very common with Diabetic moms.  Of course it wasn’t totally conclusive so I have to go back in two weeks to have another scan done.  Next week, I’m stacked with appointments, Tuesday, I have another ultrasound to check baby’s growth as well as my first non-stress test.  Then Wednesday I will meet our future pediatrician and Thursday is my regular prenatal and 2nd non-stress test.  From there on out Dr. Arora wants me to have the NSTs done twice a week.  Plus I will have at least one more ultrasound, probably mid to late December.

Dr. A and I also talked about the possibility of moving the delivery up to the end of December as well.  He bumped me up two weeks initially so my new due date is 1/6.  But I’ll be 37 weeks on 12/30, so I’m hoping baby will be ready and we can go that week.  I hate to do it between the holidays, but with all the meds and such it will be such a HUGE money saver.  Plus I’ll be done working after my maternity leave, so money will definitely be tight.  It’ll all work out as it should but those are my hopes.

Plus I’m just so excited to see this crazy little bouncing, kicking active boy that’s been in my belly.  I still haven’t settled on a name either, but it will hit me, probably when I see him.  For now, he’s just baby tut.

I have plenty of pics from the shower, but those will have to wait for another time!

Leave a Reply

